The President of the SCC until December 2021

Professor Gerd Folkers

15-20120401 swtr folkers gerd

I am honoured to preside the Swiss Science Council (SSC) from 2016 to 2019. It is my intention to gain a clear understanding of the positions of the various actors involved in this field. With their support, I wish to help Switzerland to maintain its outstanding level of performance in science and innovation. The main contribution that science makes to innovation is gravely undermined by false incentives and excessively utilitarian expectations that cripple efforts to find truly innovative solutions. Together with fellow members of the SSC, I shall re-examine future scenarios and review established structures. Adopting a national perspective, we shall take global developments into account together with new trends and recent configurations and determine their impact on Switzerland.
Council members are involved in many different activities outside the SSC, whether it be fundamental research or industrial and applied research. They also hail from a wide range of different disciplines. When combined with the accumulated experience of the SSC Secretariat, these factors ensure an independent and balanced consideration of the Swiss scientific landscape. At the same time, they enable international forecasts to cover a longer period of time. Our aim remains to continuously enhance the general framework conditions to ensure the successful development of the Swiss education, research and innovation landscape.

Swiss Science Council SSC
Professor Gerd Folkers
Einsteinstrasse 2
CH-3003 Bern

email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Designated President starting 2021

Prof. Dr. Sabine Süsstrunk

Sabine Suesstrunk

Der Bundesrat hat am 12. August 2020 Sabine Süsstrunk, Professorin an der Fakultät für Informatik und Kommunikationswissenschaften an der EPF Lausanne, zur Präsidentin des Schweizerischen Wissenschaftsrats (SWR) per 1. Januar 2021 gewählt. Sabine Süsstrunk folgt auf Gerd Folkers, der den SWR seit 2016 präsidiert.

Sabine Süsstrunk studierte an der ETH Zürich wissenschaftliche Fotografie. Nach einem Master in Electronic Publishing an der Universität Rochester (USA) arbeitete sie vier Jahre bei der Firma Corbis Corp. als verantwortliche Forschende der digitalen Bildwissenschaften in der Advanced Technology Group, USA. Von 1999 - 2014 war sie zuerst Assistenzprofessorin und anschliessend Titularprofessorin an der EPF Lausanne. Ihr Doktorat schloss sie 2006 in Computerwissenschaften an der Universität von East Anglia in Norwich (UK) ab. Seit 2014 ist sie als ordentliche Professorin für Image and Visual Representation an der EPF Lausanne tätig. Sie übernahm 2015 die Direktion des Digital Humanities Institut am Collège des humanités der EPF Lausanne.

Sabine Süsstrunk ist exzellente Kennerin des international vernetzten Schweizer Bildungs-, Forschungs- und Innovationssystems und mit dem Förderinstrumentarium und der Förderpraxis bestens vertraut. Der Schweizerische Wissenschaftsrat ist eine im Forschungs- und Innovationsförderungsgesetz geregelte ausserparlamentarische Kommission, deren Mitglieder und Präsidentin bzw. Präsident durch den Bundesrat gewählt werden. Der SWR berät aus eigener Initiative oder im Auftrag des Bundesrates oder des WBF den Bundesrat in allen Fragen der Forschungs- und Innovationspolitik. Er setzt sich derzeit aus 15 Mitgliedern zusammen, die über ausgewiesene fachübergreifende Kompetenzen in Wissenschaft, Berufsbildung und Innovation verfügen.